Peter Dorhout

2018 ACS President

KSU Dean, Arts & Sciences

Dorhout earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign and a doctorate in inorganic chemistry from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. He was a postdoctoral fellow at the Ames Laboratory at Iowa State University and a research collaborator with Los Alamos National Laboratory. His research specialties include thin film materials, environmental chemistry, and actinide and radiochemistry. For his contributions to the field of chemistry and for his work as an administrator and researcher, Dorhout is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dorhout was the 2018 president of the American Chemical Society and is the recipient of several other prestigious national awards, including Research Corporation Cottrell Scholar, Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, National Science Foundation CAREER Award, ACS Exxon-Mobil Young Faculty Award for Materials Chemistry and an A.P. Sloan Fellow. He has written more than 120 peer-reviewed articles, edited books and book chapters.