2018 CME STEM Leadership Awards™
New York
Metropolitan Club

2018 CME STEM Leadership Awards

2018. 12. 04 11 am - 2:30 pm ET



Metropolitan Club
1 E 60th Street
New York

11 am – 3:00 pm

Event times (ET)

11:00 am - 12:00 pm

12:00 - 1 pm

1 pm - 2 :30pm
Award presentation

Event fees

Send registration information request to contact@


James Simons

Simons Foundation

2018 Honoree for Outstanding STEM Philanthropy

Marilyn Simons

Simons Foundation

2018 Honoree for Outstanding STEM Philanthropy

Ed Breen


Chairman and CEO
2018 Honoree for Historic Corporate Reinvention

Henry Kravis


2018 Honoree for Lifetime Achievement


Celebrating the leaders of today and enabling those of tomorrow.

Inspiring leadership has been the hallmark of the Chemical Marketing & Economics, Inc. (CME), a forward-looking non-profit dedicated to accelerating diverse science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) talent and leadership for sustainable innovation in energy, materials and life sciences.
CME brings together Nobel Laureates and the leaders of industry, government, academia, philanthropy, and the public to share cutting-edge insights in exciting events and award-winning programs—such as the CME STEM Leadership Awards™ and events organized with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the world’s finest space agency.

On March 11, 1954, CME was created as an industry topical group of the American Chemical Society’s New York Section. Pioneering CME programs of international reach led to rapid growth and nine ChemLuminary that inspired thousands of students. CME is now an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization with long-standing bonds to ACS Technical Divisions & Chapters, and NASA’s Office of the Chief Scientist to fast-track innovation through fascinating programs, including the CME NASA Symposium, STEM Talks, CME-sponsored PMSE ACS Student & Mentor Awards and STEM Festivals.

To help address humanity’s demand for sustainable innovation, CME created in 2012 the CME STEM Leadership Awards™. This original event recognizes the vital contributions of leaders of society whose vision and combined ingenuity help unleash the power of STEM talent diversity and inclusion into amazing products and services that make people’s lives better and happier every day.

Few heartfelt words can convey the warm, inspirational and impactful CME events that celebrate the leaders of today and enable those of tomorrow as well as those from the Past CME STEM Leadership Awards™ Honoree Jon M. Huntsman Sr., a legendary humanitarian recipient of numerous awards: “the best I’ve ever seen.”



John Ewing

Math for America


Jim Fitterling


Chairman and CEO
2022 STEM Leadership Honoree

Seifi Ghasemi

Air Products

Chairman, President and CEO
2022 STEM Leadership Honoree

Thomas Connelly


Executive Director


Adam Closson

CME Past Co-Chair 2018-2019

IFF Research Fellow

George Rodriguez

ACS Fellow

CME STEM Programming
Argeni Director

Steve Barnett

CME Co-Chair

Connell Foley LLP
Environmental Health & Safety Attorney

STEM Leadership Awards Editions